Vegan Ice Cream

Vegan Ice CreamFor a while now it has been clear to me that I don’t do well with dairy, but I still love the occasional ice cream treat. For a while now I have been choosing coconut milk based ice creams instead of dairy, which has made my tummy (and my whole body) happier than eating a dairy based ice cream. Recently I tried cashew & date based chocolate pudding that a friend had made and decided it was high time that I try making my own nut based ice cream. If you like nuts, then you will most likely enjoy this ice cream, too!

First I did a little research and one recipe I looked at was from the website Elana’s Pantry. As usual, I altered things a bit. I don’t have a vitamix or similar type of blender, so I decided to soak my cashews first, which would make blending them easier. Because they had been soaked I used less liquid than her recipe.

Here is the recipe that I ended up making.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cashews (soaked in water over night & rinsed)
  • 1 1/2 cups almond milk (or other liquid of your choice
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup (you make want a bit more)
  • dash of salt
  • fresh fruit to put on afterward (optional)

Directions:

  1. Soak cashews in water overnight & rinse them before using them.
  2. Add all ingredients (except fruit) to your blender and blend until smooth
  3. Put liquid mixture into the refrigerator (probably optional, but I thought it might help the process and I didn’t have time to make the ice cream right then)
  4. When you’re ready, place liquid mixture into an ice cream maker and follow the directions of your ice cream maker. (My mixture was ready in less than 20 minutes.)
  5. Scoop out into bowls and serve immediately with fresh fruit. You can also place it into a container and put it into the freezer for later. If you do this, the ice cream will be hard when you take it out of the freezer, so let it stand for 10-15 minutes before scooping it out.
  6. Enjoy!
About Maya

Health Coach, Spirit Coach, intuitive cook, cooking teacher, energy healer, Jin Shin Jyutsu practitioner, soccer player, lover of life...
This entry was posted in dairy-free, Desserts, Gluten-free, Health Related, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

