Coming out of the Spiritual Closet

“There’s a crack in everything. That’s how the light gets in.” – Leonard Cohen from the song “Anthem”

For a while now part of me has been hiding, closed away in a closet. I’ve been afraid to shine my light, scared to openly share with my friends, and the world, who I really am and what it is that I do. Well, (gulp! Here goes…) I’m an intuitive, a psychic, a minister, a healer, and a teacher. I am energy, love, light… but before I go into that a bit more, I want to share the following with you:

This morning I read an article in Ode Magazine that really hit home in a few places. It helped me to see why it’s been such a struggle to open up and let my True Self shine. It helped me realize that it is high time for me to take this leap of faith and share with the world what I’ve been scared to show before.

For much of my life I’ve felt different and like I didn’t “belong”. Instead of embracing this completely and not caring what others thought, I hid parts of myself and tried to fit in. As I have gotten to know myself on a deeper level and began accepting myself for who I am, I’ve been able to begin to shift this. The article talked about how belonging isn’t trying to fit in, instead “it’s showing up and letting yourself be seen and known as you really are.” This is what I am now practicing doing.

Being seen for who I am is something that I want at a very deep level… for me not doing this has felt unfulfilling and like living a lie. At the same time, I’ve had a deep seeded fear that if or when I show my true self to others I would be rejected. Not only have I feared rejection, but I also feared that it would leave me alone in the world, as unrealistic as that is, that was the fear. And the fear felt totally real.

By giving in to my fears I not only put up a wall between myself and others, but it was also like cutting off an essential part of myself. It hurt a lot. I gave in to shame and the feeling that who I am isn’t good enough. The perfectionist side of me wanted to be perfect before showing myself to the world. How realistic is that? If I had continued on that path I would never have been ready to show myself in the world. Doing that would block me from stepping into my purpose for being here in the world. This not only hurts me, but it also hurts the world! We are all here for a purpose and if we hide our light, we keep our gifts from blossoming and creating positive ripples in the world.

Instead of worrying about what others might think, I am now shifting the focus to myself and asking, how can I improve?

For starters, I can put faith and trust into my friends, family, and the world. Thankfully it is always possible to change directions and make amends. My intention from now on is to let go of those old fears and patterns and instead begin to openly share who I am with the world.

I am a healer, a teacher, an intuitive, a psychic, and a minister… I am energy, love, and light… I often know more than what people are telling me with words. I can “see” things that are “invisible”. What does this all mean? Well, I have re-awakened my innate ability to be connected with the Universe, God, my Spirit and I strive to let this connection be my guide throughout all that I am and all I do while here on Earth. Each person has the ability to connect with Spirit and I’m so grateful for being able to help others along this path through coaching, teaching and simply being here and living.

I am coming out of the spiritual closet. And I welcome any questions you may have…

Ode Magazine article: “4 (totally surprising) life lessons we should all learn” By Brené Brown, Oprah.com

About Maya

Health Coach, Spirit Coach, intuitive cook, cooking teacher, energy healer, Jin Shin Jyutsu practitioner, soccer player, lover of life...
This entry was posted in Health Related, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coming out of the Spiritual Closet

  1. I do trust all of the concepts you’ve presented for your
    post. They’re really convincing and can surely work. Nonetheless, the posts are too brief for newbies. May possibly just you please lengthen them just a little from next time? Thanks for the post.

  2. Layne says:

    I’m glad to be a visitor of this perfect internet blog !
    , regards for this rare information! .

Leave a Reply

