Simple Chicken Soup

I got back from Seattle on Sunday and unfortunately brought with me a flu that is going around up there. One of the triplets had it all last week and the other two were coming down with it, as was my friend. Thankfully I was already most of the way through it and had the flexibility in my schedule to take is very easy yesterday. When I get sick I crave warm comforting soup. So the first thing I did once I was back on Sunday was make a big pot of simple chicken noodle soup. It is not only comforting, but also gives me lots of great nutrients to support my body as it kicks this flu-bug.

A few times when I’ve reheated the soup, for a variation, I’ve added a beaten egg to the simmering soup. This thickens it nicely and gives it a new flavor and texture.

Simple Chicken Soup with Egg

Simple Chicken Soup with Egg

Ingredients:

  • 2 whole chicken legs (I had them take the skin off for me)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 3 – 4 stalks celery, chopped
  • 2 – 3 large carrots, cut into rounds or moons
  • 1/2 head of napa cabbage, chopped
  • ~8 cups liquid (I used 4 cups veggie broth & 4 cups water)
  • 4 – 5 large cloves of garlic
  • 2 Tbsp. freshly grated ginger
  • 1 Lemon, zest & juice
  • 4 oz. quinoa pasta (I wanted to stay away from wheat, so chose quinoa pasta instead)
  • salt, to taste (~2 tsp.)

Directions:

  1. In a large pot, saute the onions for a few minutes before adding the chicken & salt. Brown on both sides.
  2. Add celery, carrots, liquid, ginger, garlic & lemon. Bring to a boil, then turn down heat to a simmer. Cook for 20 – 25 minutes
  3. Add pasta, turn up the heat to medium and cook as directed. During that time I took the chicken legs out, cut the meat off the bones, and into chunks, which I added back into the soup.
  4. Add the napa cabbage about 5 minutes before the pasta is supposed to be done.
  5. Adjust seasonings to taste.
  6. Enjoy!
About Maya

Health Coach, Spirit Coach, intuitive cook, cooking teacher, energy healer, Jin Shin Jyutsu practitioner, soccer player, lover of life...
This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Simple Chicken Soup

  1. Tomasa says:

    Nice Maya- I love chicken soup when I get soup. I think that it’s best when it is homemade! Thanks for sharing your recipe and for keeping it gluten-free. 😉

Leave a Reply

