Spring Greens

Lettuce seedlings

Lettuce seedlings

We are in the midst of Spring! Here in northern California the trees have bloomed and the new green leaves are out and growing. In many traditions greens are a large part of the spring time diet. They help us cleanse and renew after an often heavier winter diet. Personally, I notice that when the weather gets warmer I start to crave lighter foods including lots more greens, especially in the form of salads for me.

Planting lettuce

Planting lettuce

Greens are filled with nutrients that our bodies need to function optimally. Many are high in calcium, magnesium, iron, potassium, phosphorous, zinc, the B vitamins, and vitamins A, C, E and K. They also have lots of fiber, folic acid, chlorophyll and many other micro-nutrients and phyto-chemicals.

If you can make one change to your diets, I would recommend adding more green vegetables. They are typically the food that is most missing in modern diets. Greens are extremely versatile. Many can be eaten raw and others are wonderful when cooked. They are quick and easy to cook and can be added to almost any dish – soups, stews, casseroles, stir-fries, etc.

Lettuce growing

Lettuce growing

This spring I joined a community garden, which has been a wonderful learning experience. Plus has the added benefit of working with others who also enjoy getting their hands dirty and gives me access to the freshest vegetables I could possibly get! The above photos are of some lettuce seedlings that we planted a little while back. The photo to the right shows how it has grown in just a few weeks time! I love how beautiful something as simple as two colors of lettuce can be. 🙂

How could you add more greens to your diet?

About Maya

Health Coach, Spirit Coach, intuitive cook, cooking teacher, energy healer, Jin Shin Jyutsu practitioner, soccer player, lover of life...
This entry was posted in Health Related and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Greens

  1. Tomasa says:

    Yes, Maya…I find myself doubling up on my share of greens these days. Since the weather is warmer, my body can tolerate more raw foods – i.e. – salads. Eating lighter makes me feel healthier and it shows up in my body – my skin, my weight, etc. Thank you for posting this article as I love shopping at the grocery store this time of year because it is abundant with the green leafy vegetables!

Leave a Reply

