Self-Care

Heart

Authentic Painting Class Heart

What is Self-Care? 

This month I’m participating in a blog challenge being put on by the “Self-Care Queendom” Facebook Page. All participants will write a blog post each weekday for the month of May. As I started thinking about this, it brought the topic of self-care to the for-front of my mind. This topic also comes up so often with my clients and within myself – finding that balance between all the things I “need” to do and taking time to care for myself. In light of these thoughts, Self-Care seemed the perfect starting point for this month’s challenge.

Each of us is a unique Being. We have our own unique needs – the foods that are perfect for my body, may not be best for your individual body. The same goes for the type of exercise that feels great and energizes you, the way you take in nourishment, or how you pamper yourself. Guidance and tips from others can help us gather ideas or motivate us to try something new. But no one else can tell you what is best for you. Only you can truly know what that is, when you listen, get to know, and learn to trust that deepest part of you.

Over the next month I will post “Maya Wellness Tips” each week day. These will span a whole range subjects, and I’m convinced that all of them will somehow relate back to self-care. Some will be new recipes or information on foods, some will be self-help or healing energy exercises, others will be motivational quotes and much more.

It is so common for us to take time to care for others, and forget, or run out of time, to care for ourselves. During this month of Maya Wellness Tips, I hope to be able to offer you new ideas and motivation to spark you to take a next step in your own growth, learning, and caring for your deepest self.

For today, I encourage you to think about what self-care means to you? Do you give yourself space and time for self-care? How could increase self-care in your life?

About Maya

Health Coach, Spirit Coach, intuitive cook, cooking teacher, energy healer, Jin Shin Jyutsu practitioner, soccer player, lover of life...
This entry was posted in Health Related, Spiritual, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Self-Care

  1. Tomasa says:

    Beautiful post Maya! Thank you for that introduction and introspective about Self-Care. Yes, it is different for everyone and each individual needs to find what it means to them. Can’t wait to see your wellness tips. I’m sure that you and I might share similar energy exercises. 🙂

  2. Ann says:

    I love the flexibility you leave to us. I am one of those seemingly unusual women who doesn’t enjoy taking a bath! When I go to a spa day with my friends, while they go off to get their mani-pedis, I go get a massage. We are all different and it is okay to find the best ways to meet your needs, not to fit into someone else’s mold. I’m looking forward to more of your tips.

Leave a Reply

