Chicken Millet Comfort Stew

This is another soup that I made for my friends in Seattle. It is a little similar to Chicken Noodle soup, but heartier, healthier and gluten free! It’s a great comfort food during the cold months. My friends loved it, too. In this version I tried something new, and unexpected, by following my cooking intuition. 🙂 I’ve been cooking intuitively for a while now, which I find allows for wonderful creativity and fun. I tend to add seasonings by feel, so the amounts are all guesstimations.

Can anyone guess what my unexpected intuitive addition to this recipe was?

A little information about the health benefits of millet – high in fiber; manganese, magnesium, and phosphorus are some of the great nutrients in it; as a whole grain it helps lower the risk for Type II Diabetes and is good for cardiovascular health.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cup millet
  • 5 – 6 cups liquid (broth or water)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 stalks celery, cut into small pieces
  • 4 large carrots, cut into small pieces
  • 4 – 5 chicken legs (with bone and skin is great)
  • 1/4 cup golden raisins (any type will work)
  • 1 – 2 tbsp. fresh ginger, grated
  • 3 – 4 cloves garlic, crushed or chopped finely
  • Basil, Oregano, Paprika, salt & pepper (all to taste – probably at least 1 tsp. of each except the pepper, which was less)

Directions:

  1. Saute onions and add chicken to sear on all sides.
  2. Add all other ingredients.
  3. Bring to a boil then turn down to low and let simmer for 30 to 40 minutes.
  4. Using a long fork or spoon, fish out the chicken legs. Remove skin and cut meat off the bones. (It will fall off very easily.)
  5. Cut meat into bite sized pieces and add back to the stew.
  6. Adjust seasonings as needed.
  7. Enjoy!
About Maya

Health Coach, Spirit Coach, intuitive cook, cooking teacher, energy healer, Jin Shin Jyutsu practitioner, soccer player, lover of life...
This entry was posted in Main Dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chicken Millet Comfort Stew

  1. Michelle says:

    This soup was SO GOOD–I am saving the tub in my freezer until I am feeling the need for such comfort food. Thanks for making it and sharing, Maya!

  2. Seth says:

    Rasins? In soup !

    • mayawp77 says:

      Yes, raisins in soup! It surprised me, too. But as I was making the soup, I saw the jar of golden raisins on the shelf in my friend’s pantry and it was like they were calling out to me saying “put us in the soup!!” so I listened. Turns out it was quite tasty. 🙂

Leave a Reply

