Ginger Squash Soup

I love this time of year when pumpkins and winter squashes are ripe and ready to be made into all sorts of delicious meals. Not to mention used as decorations for Halloween! Last week when I was up in Seattle with friends, one of the recipes I made for them was a Squash soup with ginger. Each time I make it, it turns out a little different than last time because I tend to cook using my intuition instead of by following an exact recipe. So the below is my guestimation of what I used, so feel free to experiment and make it into your own!

Ingredients:

  • 2 large butternut squash, cut into large chunks
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, pressed
  • Lots of fresh ginger, grated (I’d guess I used at least 2 Tbsp.)
  • 6 – 8 cups of broth (I used vegetable, but chicken would also work)
  • Spices – curry (1 – 2 Tbsp.), cumin, turmeric, cinnamon (~1 tsp. or more of each), a pinch of cloves, paprika, and chili powder
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • Lemon juice (maybe 1/4 cup)

Directions:

  1. Bake the butternut squash chunks at 425 for 45 min. or until soft. (I did this early in the day so they had time to cool which makes pealing easier.)
  2. In a large stockpot, saute the onions over medium heat. I like to cook mine for a while slowly so that they release lots of flavor.
  3. While the onions are cooking, peal the butternut squash.
  4. Add the spices and garlic to the onions and saute for a few more minutes to release the flavors of the spices.
  5. Add broth, squash, ginger, salt and pepper and bring to a boil.
  6. Cover, turn down to simmer and cook for 15 – 20 minutes.
  7. Blend the soup.*
  8. Taste test and adjust seasonings as you see fit. This was where I added the lemon juice to bring all the flavors together.
  9. Enjoy!

* I used an immersion blender, which in my opinion is one of the best appliances to have on hand. They are versatile and relatively cheap to buy – around $30. Otherwise you can use a regular blender by scooping the soup into it in batches.

About Maya

Health Coach, Spirit Coach, intuitive cook, cooking teacher, energy healer, Jin Shin Jyutsu practitioner, soccer player, lover of life...
This entry was posted in Health Related, Main Dishes, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

