Miracles in Brazil

“For those who believe, no words are necessary, for those who do not believe, no words are possible.” – Dom Inacio de Loyola (Saint Ignatius of Loyola)

Since returning from Brazil, I have been asked many times how my trip was. A brief answer is that it was amazing and I want to go back again. What I have written below is another answer. There are many. Have you ever asked yourself why you are here on this earth? Have you ever wondered about miracles? Or whether God exists? Have you wanted to stretch the limits of what you believed to be possible? Or done something that shifted your reality? These questions all relate to why I went to Brazil. If you choose to read on, I recommend reading with an open heart and mind. This was my personal experience. Yours would no doubt be different.

Road just outside of The Casa

Each year thousands of people from all over the world travel to a small town called Abadiania in the middle of Brazil. They go there to see a man who is known as “John of God” at the Casa de Don Ignacio (The Casa). The reason for their travels is usually to receive healing – physical, mental, emotional, spiritual, or a combination of these. There are people who come with serious illnesses, looking for a miracle. Others bring sick family members. Some want to grow spiritually and go to meditate and give back. How long they stay varies from a day, to months or even years.

My own trip to Abadiania, Brazil started a number of years ago when family friends went to see John of God. It is common for people to bring pictures of loved ones with them. My friends offered to bring my photo and to ask for healing for me. I was open to it, so I sent along my picture. When they returned they brought me healing herbs and there was an “X” on the back of my picture. That “X” meant that I should go there in person to receive healing. This brought up more questions for me. Why did I get an “X”? How does he know who should come for healing?

Part of The Casa grounds

After that I started to hear numerous amazing stories from friends and acquaintances about their experiences visiting The Casa. A few told me about physical surgeries done without anesthesia where they felt no pain. One even showed a video of his physical surgery. Others described invisible psychic surgeries that healed and cured ailments. And all talked about their experiences there as moving, spiritual, and healing. How are those things possible? Are they real? Miracles? Does it mean God (some greater force) exists? Could I experience something like that? Would I want to? These stories brought up questions, awe, amazement, and at times disbelief.

For a number of years two of the teachers at the spirituality school where I go, have lead groups to Brazil to see John of God. Last year I decided that I was going to go with the group the next time they went. After years of hearing these amazing, unbelievable stories, I wanted to answer some of my questions and see it for myself. Also, I somehow just knew it was an experience that would be really good for me. So on January 29th, 2011, I boarded a plane in San Francisco and headed off for two weeks with the group.

Things began to get interesting even before we arrived. After a long delay in San Francisco (mechanical problems), missing our original flight to Brazil, staying in Atlanta for a night (getting to take a mini tour of that city), a small miracle allowed all seven of us who were traveling together to get on the next flight out to Brasilia, Brazil, even though only 5 seats were technically available.

Anna on the street to The Casa

As I filled out my entry forms at the end of this 8+ hour plane ride from Atlanta to Brasilia, the person in the seat next to me said, “Oh, I’m going there too. You’ll see me going around with a video camera filming.” It turns out he was part of a documentary crew who are working on a feature length piece about John of God and The Casa. Over the next two weeks saw each other many times. Each time, he smiled at me with a big genuine smile, like we’d known each other for years. As far as I know, it was the first time we had met.

For years I have held walls around my heart. It’s been a protection mechanism and one of my intentions for this trip was to open my heart more – break down some of those walls. This connection with a stranger who was so genuinely open and friendly was one piece in my healing journey.

The first couple of days were spent orienting ourselves and adjusting to being there. During this time, before we saw John of God, I felt nervous and unsure. Through years of spiritual exploration, my view of what is possible has shifted and expanded a lot. Yet, I still didn’t know what to expect. Fear was coming up. Fear of change, of letting go and being, as I saw it, more vulnerable to the pain of being hurt. What if my heart got trampled on again? Would my questions be answered? Would it shift my reality too much? What if I don’t experience anything? I was very thankful for the support from others in the group who helped me lean into that uncomfortable place instead of just resisting it.

A surgery

John of God works at The Casa on Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays. Each day there is a morning session and an afternoon session. During these sessions, people go through a line to see John of God, who answers questions and gives prescriptions for healing. One of the prescriptions that he gives is to have surgery. Most typical are psychic/invisible surgeries. For various reasons, some people elect to have physical surgery. These physical/visible surgeries are often done in the main hall on a little stage, right in front of others who are waiting. Most people in our group (including me) saw at least one of these surgeries. Personally, I was not interested in having a physical surgery, but I was prescribed and received a psychic/invisible surgery.

For my surgery I was brought into a room with a number of other people. We were told to sit with our eyes closed and to place our right hand over our heart. The entities (healing spirits who work with John of God) then worked on us. There are hundreds if not thousands of entities that work at The Casa. At first I didn’t feel much. Then after what felt

Room of stuff people have left behind (the wheel chairs they sometimes use after surgeries)

like a few minutes a warm, tingly energy went through my whole body. I felt some distinct tingling (in short parallel lines) on my chest and also on my upper back. Peacefulness took over and I wanted to stay there longer when they told us it was time to get up. As I got up, I felt unsteady on my feet and a little woozy and disoriented.

After a surgery you are told to rest and sleep for 24 hours. People bring you food and you stay in your room. During those hours the entities continue to work on many people. For me it became clear that my back was one of the areas that they worked on. For years I have had scoliosis. One of the healing requests that I had made when I sent my photo all those years ago was for healing for the scoliosis. It has never bothered me (thankfully) but growing up I had to wear a back brace for about two years and underwent a number of different kinds of treatments for it. (Another story in itself!) At one point after the surgery I had severe back pain – to a point of being unable to sleep until I piled up pillows and blankets so that I was at an angle (like in a hospital bed where you raise it to a half way sitting position). And then on the second morning the pain in my back was completely gone. Totally gone.

Open air prayer space

Another experience during the days right after surgery happened on the second night. I slept for about 2 hours before being awoken by horrendous pain in my head. It felt like my brain was too big for my scull and was pushing out on all sides. This pain was so bad that I wanted to cry. Somehow I knew/heard that I needed to ask for help, so I closed my eyes and imagined going up into a healing place and did just that. I asked for help. Immediately after asking, the severity of the pain in my head went down to the level of just a slight headache. It was shocking and amazing. I felt very connected to a Source greater than myself. God. Love. Creator. The Universe. Whatever you want to call it. It was life changing to experience this connection so clearly and to realize that this connection is available to me anytime! Many of my questions were starting to be answered. Yes, I could experience something. Yes, there is something greater than me. Yes, it is real. Yes, I want to continue experiencing these amazing connections! YES!!

“This little light of mine, I’m going to let it shine. Let it shine, let it shine, let it shine!!”

After the Waterfall

My experiences of miracles, healing, and opening up, continued during the “off” days, when John of God is not there working. Each of those days, our group was able to go to the sacred waterfall that flows near The Casa. It is another prescription that John of God sometimes gives. Going into the sacred waterfall was an amazing experience for me. The current was strong, but it was much more than that. When I put my head in the stream of water I could feel stuff (energetic muck) stripping off of me. Physically it helped me too. It cleared my sinuses and improved the head cold that had come on after my surgery. Each time I went in, it was a powerful healing. Each time I’d get out of the waterfall I felt joyful and light. I was always grinning from ear to ear. I couldn’t help it!

A room filled with huge crystals

We also spent time looking at the beautiful jewelry so many of the local shops had for sale. Brazil has a wealth of precious stones, which are mined and sold there – quartz crystals, amethysts, rose quarts, aquamarine, citrine and so many more. Each one holds unique energetic healing qualities. The Casa is built on a bed of quartz crystals, which is known to be very healing and high in vibration. It is part of what makes that place so amazing. That positive energy is palpable for many of the people who journey there.

The Casa store sells quartz crystals, bracelets, rosaries, and other items. For the last few years I have been working on listening to my intuition. As I looked through a large basket of bracelets I had another amazing experience. I saw a quartz crystal bracelet and I immediately knew that it was for a particular friend of mine. Once home I sent it to her. I got a call from her, almost

Some of the crystals at The Casa store

in tears, the day she received it. She told me it was the perfect gift at exactly the right time. The past week or two had been very difficult. Aside from that she had started to work with crystals recently. She also was taking classes in Reiki where her teacher uses crystals quite a bit. She told me that when she put on the bracelet she immediately felt the positive energy from it. It’s so exciting to see what can happen when I listen to that little inner voice, that connection to something greater than me, which allows me to co-creates moments like this.

Orbs around me

On Saturday evening, in the middle of the trip, we celebrated the birthdays of a number of members of our group – laughter, cake, ice cream and wonderful conversation. My favorite part of the evening came a bit later when someone asked Dana, one of our group leaders, if he would be willing to take “orb” pictures with us. A group of us went out to a field nearby. One by one we went out in the field to have our picture taken with the entities. In digital photographs the entities show up as “orbs” – circles of light, often with patterns/designs in them. A former NASA physicist has written a couple of books on them (Click here for more information).

Thinking about our purpose

I find these pictures to be amazing. In some, nothing but blackness shows up. In others, there are hundreds of orbs of various sizes and even colors! Dana had us think about different things, which effected how many showed up in the photos. For the group photo that I’ve included, Dana had us all think about our purpose. What an incredible reminder for me that I have help, guidance (if I listen!) and support when I stay true to my purpose. Knowing exactly what my purpose is in words is still challenging. For now it’s a feeling, a connection and a knowing of when I’m on my path or off it.

By the end of my time in Brazil, I felt lighter. I felt free to shine and be more openly myself. I had fewer walls around my heart. And it felt amazing! Staying that free, connected, and open, has been challenging as I come back into the “real” world. But I know that when I am able to be that way, everything else is easier. I feel in alignment with my true self. I am closer to understanding my purpose. I am free from fear. And I can shine my light out into the world. Thank you for allowing me to start by sharing my experiences from Brazil with you.

If you are interested in hearing more, feel free to connect with me. Below are also a few resources and links for more information about John of God.

The Group

More information about John of God:
John of God by Heather Cumming
The Miracle Man by Josie Ravenwing
http://www.friendsofthecasa.info/


For more photos of the trip click here.

About Maya

Health Coach, Spirit Coach, intuitive cook, cooking teacher, energy healer, Jin Shin Jyutsu practitioner, soccer player, lover of life...
This entry was posted in Spiritual. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Miracles in Brazil

  1. Michelle says:

    Wow, Maya–not only was your experience amazing, but your description of it is also amazing! Thank you for your eloquent and heartfelt sharing of your time in Brazil. ❤

  2. Irina says:

    Thank you for sharing your experience. It is very much similar to what i experienced in my recent trip ( almost 2 weeks ago) to John of God. Incredible feelings, unwillingness to leave Brazil and go back to reality if a daily life. I felt that 2 additional weeks ( to the two that i stayed there) are needed. Two weeks for me presented a life changing experience, but were not enough. The most difficult task after such trip to continue be connected to The Entity and feel the same elevated way how i felt while in the Casa. How do you achieve? What is your advice? Thank you in advance. Irina

    • Maya says:

      Hi Irina,
      Thank you for the message. Yes, going back to daily life can be quite challenging. One of the main things that helps me is my daily meditation practice. There are many different ways to meditate, so I would recommend finding one that resonates for you. I also use various spiritual and energetic tools such as grounding, protection, and prayer. Finally, simply ask the Entities for their help and listen to your intuition for their guidance.
      Sending you many blessings,
      Maya

Leave a Reply

